The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) has adopted the Triple C Curriculum  — a competency-based curriculum that is based on the principles of:

  • Comprehensive Care
  • Continuity of education and patient care, and
  • Centred in Family Medicine
Learning Cycle

Learning Cycle

Residents may enter the postgraduate program with differing degrees of competency in different areas. Through the ongoing structured assessment and self-reflection of the UBC Learning Cycle, residents will build on these competencies.

By the end of the two-year training program, residents are expected to be competent in providing care:

  • across the lifecycle (eg. maternity care, children and adolescents, adults, elderly, palliative and end-of life care),
  • across the spectrum of clinical responsibilities (including prevention),
  • in a variety of care settings,
  • to a broad base, and
  • using a range of procedural skills.

Visit the CFPC website for more information on the Triple C Curriculum.